The SiriusXM OutQ News Blog

News from America's only radio station for the LGBT community.

Top West Point cadet resigns over DADT

with one comment

A lesbian cadet says she had to resign from West Point because she could no longer “compromise” her integrity over “don’t ask, don’t tell.”

Twenty-year-old Cadet Katharine Miller ranked ninth in her class of over one thousand. She says that her resignition was not easy to make because of the “special place” in her heart for serving her country.

Cadet Katie Miller: “Around the same time I was discovering West Point, I was also comming to terms with my sexuality and when I had to weigh two imperitaves that I had, the two personal aspects in my life that I wanted to fill, which was public service and developing my personal Identity, I chose West Point because I thought that I would be able to endure the hardships that I just knew would be comming.”

Miller also says that there is an “underground support system” where she and other LGBT cadets fiound support–not just from fellow gay people but from some faculty and straight cadets as well. She says she needed to use “serious discretion” when talking about her sexuality, but that it was “pretty easy” for her to tell who would be open to talking. Miller says that some cadets can “put aside” their sexuality, but she felt “personally repressed the entire time.” Miller will be on her way to Yale on a scholarship from the Point Foundation in a matter of weeks. The foundation provides support for LGBT college students nationwide.

–Rachel Kass

Written by OutQ News staff

August 13, 2010 at 2:00 PM

Posted in Education, Military

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good for you Katherine Miller. It’s very difficult to be true to yourself. I applaud you.

    Lucius Scribbens

    August 13, 2010 at 8:01 PM


Leave a Reply

